Southern African Regional Universities Association

Informations clés

Autre nom SARUA

Ville d'établissement Johannesburg

Afrique du Sudflag_countryMain

Année de création 2005

  • Etablissements affiliés

    Aucun établissement n'est affilié à ce groupement.

    • The Southern African Regional Universities Association was established in 2005 as a membership based association for the 66 public universities in the 15 countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

      SARUA aims to assist in the general revitalization of higher education in Southern Africa and specifically to enhance and build the senior leadership capacity of SADC Higher Education institutions, thus enabling the sector to effectively respond to regional development challenges.

      Since its inception SARUA has undertaken a number of baseline research studies in the region to investigate key higher education issues facing the public universities in Southern Africa, including size and shape issues, funding issues, open access and science and technology and ICT.