National • Recherche

  • logo_University of the Philippines Visayas
    • The University of the Philippines Visayas (also referred to as UPV or UP Visayas) is a public research university in the Philippines. A constituent university of the University of the Philippines system, it is one of the most prominent educational institutions in the Visayas region, especially when it comes to management, accountancy, marketing, economics, chemistry, applied mathematics and physics, marine science education and research, fisheries, and aquaculture. It offers regional studies programs on the preservation and enrichment of the Visayan cultural heritage as well as a full complement of other subjects and majors.

      UP Visayas has three campuses--Miagao, Iloilo City, and Tacloban—with Miagao being the main campus with its central administration offices. The University of the Philippines Cebu College was part of UP Visayas but it separated in September 2010, after being declared an autonomous unit. Most of the students of the university are drawn from the Visayas and the Visayan linguistic groups. Many of the leaders of the Visayas graduated from UPV or its predecessor institutions. As of 2007, the Commission on Higher Education of the Philippines awarded four National Centers of Excellence and Development to UPV including Fisheries (UPV-Miagao), Marine Science (UPV-Miagao), and Biology (UPV-Miagao).