University Malaya Medical Centre

  • logo_University Malaya Medical Centre
    • University Malaya Medical Centre (UMMC) is a government-funded medical institution located in Pantai Dalam, southwest corner of Kuala Lumpur. It was established in 1962. It is part of the University of Malaya. The University was created in Singapore in 1949, combining the two premier institutions of higher education in colonial Malaya and Singapore, Raffles College and King Edward VII College of Medicine to serve the needs of the colony. Following the Independence of Malaya in 1957, two autonomous divisions of the university, one in Singapore and one in Kuala Lumpur, were established in 1959. The Singapore Division was renamed the National University of Singapore.

      On 5 August 1968, the new UMMC was officially opened by His Majesty the Yang Dipertuan Agung, Duli Yang, Maha Mulia Seri, Paduka Baginda, Yang Dipertuan, Agung Tuanku, Ismail Nasarudin, Shah Ibni Alharmahum and Sultan Zainal Abidin.

      The University motto, "Ilmu Punca Kemajuan" (Knowledge is the Key to Success) reflects that both UMMC and the Faculty of Medicine strive to live up to this ideal. UMMC is one of the organisations in the Ministry of Higher Education. The main objectives of UMMC are health services, learning and research.