African Virtual University

  • logo_African Virtual University
    • The African Virtual University (AVU) is an pan-African effort to create an open and affordable distance learning institution to serve the African continent. The AVU began in 1997 as a project of the World Bank and later developed into an autonomous institution after it was handed over to African governments in 2003.

      Fifteen African Governments have signed a Charter establishing the AVU as an intergovernmental organization. These include Ghana, Mozambique, Kenya, Senegal, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, South Sudan, Benin, Tanzania, Republic Of Guinea, Sudan, Burkina Faso, Mali, $!%@?,and Mauritania. The AVU has its headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya and a regional office in Dakar, Senegal.