Franco-British Student Alliance

Key information


  • Universities affiliated

    No university is yet affiliated to this group.

    • The Franco-British Student Alliance (FBSA), or Alliance Etudiante Franco-Britannique (AEFB) in French, is a forum and think-tank dedicated to students from France and Britain. It addresses both the future of Franco-British relations and promotes the global competitiveness of the academic sectors of both countries.

      The Alliance was founded in 2004 during the centenary of the Entente Cordiale, and unites the students and young alumni of seven leading universities from both countries: the London School of Economics (LSE), the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge, The Institut d'Études Politiques de Paris (Sciences Po) (the French counterpart of the London School of Economics), HEC Paris (the top European business school according to the Financial Times, as of 2005,2006,2007,2008), the Ecole Polytechnique (France's top engineering school), and the École supérieure des sciences économiques et commerciales (ESSEC, another top French business school) .

      It functions under the joint patronage of HM The Queen and the President of the French Republic, and under the joint Honorary Presidency of Lord Salisbury and le Marquis de Breteuil.