Flagship Korean National Universities

Key information

South Koreaflag_countryMain

  • Universities affiliated

    No university is yet affiliated to this group.

    • Korean Flagship National Universities (Korean: 지방거점국립대학교, Hanja: 地方據點國立大學校, literally: national universities designed as provincial centres) had been created by the South Korean government to lead the development of South Korea into a developed country through providing the highest educational institutions nationwide. The Korean government created one flagship national university for each province between 1946 and 1968 when South Korea consisted of two provinces and eight independent cities. Ten Korean Flagship National Universities have been taking roles as the leading national institutes of higher education in South Korea.