European Consortium of Innovative Universities

Key information

  • Universities affiliated

    No university is yet affiliated to this group.

    • In 1997, eleven European universities came together to establish the European Consortium of Innovative Universities (ECIU). The consortium is a group of universities dedicated to the development of an innovative culture in their institutions, and to a catalytic role for innovation in industry and society. All have academic strengths in engineering and social science; all are relatively young, entrepreneurial, and progressive; and all have close ties to industry and to the regions in which they are situated. They are committed to developing and implementing new forms of teaching, training, and research; to developing an innovative culture within their walls; to experimenting with new forms of management and administration; and to sustaining and nurturing internationally minded staff.