Eco League

Key information

  • Universities affiliated

    • The Eco League is a six-college consortium consisting of Alaska Pacific University in Anchorage, Alaska, Green Mountain College in Poultney, Vermont, Northland College in Ashland, Wisconsin, Prescott College in Prescott, Arizona, College of the Atlantic in Bar Harbor, Maine and, since January 2014, Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania. The consortium is unique in that each college is in a different geographic area.

      The Eco League offers studies in marine biology, sustainable business and natural and cultural history interpretation.

      Despite a wide variation in structure and culture, the six colleges have strong programs in Environmental Studies. The essential beauty of the consortium is the ability to experience learning in virtually every major biome of the United States.

      The Eco League was created in response to a student call for improved academic collaboration and mobility related to issues of sustainability. This call was first articulated by students at Prescott College who in 1996 founded the North American Alliance for Green Education (NAAGE), an earlier consortium and non-profit founded by students at Prescott College in collaboration with other students, faculty and administrators at Antioch College, Audubon Expedition Institute, College of the Atlantic, Green Mountain College, Naropa University, New College of California, Northland College in Wisconsin, Sterling College in Vermont, Unity College in Maine and Warren Wilson College. The student exchange system developed by NAAGE leaders and negotiated over several years with stakeholders at each institution was later adopted by the Eco League.