Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges

Key information

  • Universities affiliated

    • The Council of Public Liberal Arts Colleges (COPLAC) is a consortium of 29 public colleges and universities in 27 states and one Canadian province. Established in 1987, COPLAC advances the aims of its member institutions and drives awareness of the value of public liberal arts education in a student-centered, residential environment.

      COPLAC campuses are small-to-medium sized (800-7000 students) and the focus is primarily on undergraduate education. As public institutions, COPLAC colleges and universities combine an egalitarian concern for access with academic rigor. Member institutions work to provide a transformative liberal arts education commensurate with that offered by North America’s finest private colleges. Essential features this goal are extensive, integrated arts and sciences core curricula.

      The majority of campuses are located in small towns and cities, while others are located in attractive rural areas. Some COPLAC campuses have received official designation from their state legislatures or public university systems as the state’s public liberal arts college or the public honors college for the liberal arts.