Concordia University System

Key information

  • Universities affiliated

    No university is yet affiliated to this group.

    • The Concordia University System (CUS) is an organization of ten colleges and universities throughout the United States operated by the Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod (LCMS). All ten institutions are named "Concordia"--a reference to the Latin title of The Book of Concord, the collection of Lutheran confessions--and all include professional church work programs as part of their curricula. The CUS was formed in 1992. As of 2011, 28,421 students attend Concordia System colleges.

      Each Concordia is independent and has its own president, faculty, and board of regents. At the same time, the ten schools interact with one another and share some resources and services. One service offered by the CUS, the Simultaneous Enrollment Program, allows any student enrolled at one Concordia to attend another CUS college for up to a year as a "visiting student." During this time, visiting students are considered to be enrolled at both CUS institutions simultaneously.