C9 League

Key information

Name Used Domestically 九校聯盟 (Jiǔxiào Liánméng)

Headquarter City Irvine

United Statesflag_countryMain

  • Universities affiliated

    • The C9 League is an alliance of nine elite universities in mainland China, analogous to the Ivy League in the USA, the Russell Group in the UK, and the Go8 in Australia. The members of the C9 League are Fudan University, Harbin Institute of Technology, Nanjing University, Peking University, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Tsinghua University, University of Science and Technology of China, Xi'an Jiao Tong University, and Zhejiang University. Together they account for 3% of the country's researchers but receive 10% of national research expenditures. They produce 20% of the academic publications and 30% of total citations.