Baltic University Programme

Key information

Headquarter City Uppsala


  • Universities affiliated

    No university is yet affiliated to this group.

    • The Baltic University Programme (BUP) is a network of about 225 universities and other institutes of higher education in the Baltic Sea region. It is coordinated by the Baltic University Programme Secretariat, a part of the Uppsala Centre for Sustainable Development at Uppsala University, Sweden.

      The participating universities are located within or partly within the Baltic Sea drainage basin, including Belarus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Russia, and Sweden. Countries near the basin are also represented - Czech Republic, Norway, Slovakia, and Ukraine.

      The Programme, established in 1991, creates and coordinates undergraduate and master level courses at its participating institutions and sponsors joint research projects focusing on sustainable development in the region. It is governed by an international board.