Academy Louvain

Key information

Headquarter City Leuven


  • Universities affiliated

    • L'Académie Louvain is the network of French-speaking catholic universities in Belgium. It was formed following the Bologna process to reform higher-level education. The network includes: Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) (Louvain-la-Neuve), Facultés universitaires Notre-Dame de la Paix (UNamur) (Namur), Facultés universitaires Saint-Louis (FUSL) (Brussels)

      Previously it also included a fourth institution, the Facultés universitaires catholiques de Mons (FUCaM) in Mons, however this has since merged into UCL. After almost three years of active collaboration within this network, the rectors of the four catholic universities decided on March 12, 2007 to open negotiations with the aim of fusing the four establishments into one single university. Each site would thenceforth be a campus of "Université catholique de Louvain".