University of Ouagadougou

Public institution

  • logo_University of Ouagadougou
    • Founded in 1974, the University of Ouagadougou (UO) is located in the area of Dawn Van Noord in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso. In 1995 a second campus for professional education known as University Polytechnique of Bobo (UPB) was opened in the city of Bobo Dioulasso and a third campus for teacher training in Koudougou in 1996 and in 2005 it became the University of Koudougou. The UO consists of seven Training and Research Units (UFR) and one institute.

      The UO plays a key role in the economy and offers educational, cultural and economics benefit to the country. The current President of the University of Ouagadougou is Pr. Jean Koulidiati. The goal of the UO is to open new faculties in order to increase the number of students, to intensify the development of new information and communication technologies, to improve the university management, to improve the internal and external efficiency by diversification of the areas in education and to finally introduce a professional education.

      The University of Ouagadougou had around 40,000 students in 2010 (83% of the national population of university students).
  • Affiliations