Mount St. Mary's University

Private institution

  • logo_Mount St. Mary's University
    • Mount St. Mary's University, also known as The Mount, is a private, liberal arts, Catholic university in the Catoctin Mountains near historic Emmitsburg, Maryland.

      The undergraduate university is divided into four schools: the College of Liberal Arts, the Richard J. Bolte School of Business, the School of Education & Human Services, and the School of Natural Science and Mathematics. The university has more than 40 majors, minors, concentrations and special programs, including bachelor's/master's combinations in partnership with other universities.

      The university also offers seven master's degree programs and five postgraduate certificate programs.

      The campus includes the second largest Catholic seminary in the United States, where future priests study in the Ordination/Master of Divinity program. Lay students can pursue a Master of Theology Arts at the seminary.

      Mr. Simon P. Newman is the university president. The seminary's rector and president is Monsignor Andrew R. Baker. The chancellor of the seminary is the current Archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Baltimore, the Most Reverend William E. Lori.