Airlangga University

Public institution

  • logo_Airlangga University
    • Universitas Airlangga (UNAIR) is the second-oldest and one of the most prestigious university in Indonesia. Located in Surabaya, East Java, this university was established in 1948 as a distant branch of University of Indonesia, with roots dating back to 1913. It started with a medical school and school of dentistry. At present day, Universitas Airlangga is a prestigious university with an entrepreneurial focus that hosts 13 faculties with more than 24,143 students (during the 2009–2010 academic year) and nearly 1,571 faculty members. In addition to that, Universitas Airlangga also have a "university hospitals" for the faculties of Medicine, Veterinary Medicine, and Dentistry, as well as Tropical Infection hospital for the Institute of Tropical Disease. The university is also equipped with biosafety level 3 facilities.

      Consistently ranked highly in major world university rankings, Universitas Airlangga have long been considered as one of the "Big 5" university in Indonesia, along with University of Indonesia, Bandung Institute of Technology, Bogor Agricultural University, and Gadjah Mada University. Universitas Airlangga also have many international partnerships worldwide, including ones with University of Bonn, Seoul National University, and University of Adelaide.
  • Affiliations