Public institution

  • logo_Aberystwyth University
    • Aberystwyth University (Welsh: Prifysgol Aberystwyth) is a public research university located in Aberystwyth, Wales. Aberystwyth was a founding Member Institution of the former federal University of Wales. There are over 7,500 students in the University's three main faculties of arts, social science and the sciences.

      Founded in 1872 as University College Wales, Aberystwyth it became a founder member of the University of Wales in 1894 and changed its name to the University College of Wales, Aberystwyth. In the mid-1990s, the university again changed its name to the University of Wales, Aberystwyth. On 1 September 2007, the University of Wales ceased to be a federal university and Aberystwyth became independent again.

      The QS World University Rankings placed Aberystwyth in the 501–550 bracket in 2015, The Guardian University League Table 2015 ranks it 106th out of 116 UK universities, down from 88th in the 2014 table. The Complete University Guide's 2015 table ranks it 87th out of 123 British universities, down from 70th in 2014.
  • Affiliations